

For Immediate Release: February 1, 2025

## PRESS-RELEASE

## 28th Annual Flower Show of IIT(ISM) Dhanbad features an extensive collection of flowers

The 28th Annual Flower Show of IIT(ISM) Dhanbad was successfully organized on February 1, 2025, at the picturesque Oval Garden. The event was inaugurated by Prof. Sukumar Mishra, Honorable Director of IIT(ISM) Dhanbad, at 11:00 AM. The show featured an extensive collection of flowers, categorized into various sections, making it a vibrant and aesthetically delightful event.

The competition was structured into multiple categories, including Potted Flowering Plants, Ornamental Potted Flowering Plants, Cactus & Succulents, Bonsai, Flower Arrangement, and Institutional and Individual Gardens. This year, the event received an overwhelming response with a total of 84 entries, comprising 48 from IIT(ISM) and 36 from Dhanbad city.

In the Individual Garden category within the IIT(ISM) campus, 34 entries were received, further divided into three subcategories: Ground, Balcony, and Roof Garden. The winners in these categories were as follows:

- Ground Garden:
  - o 1st Place: Veena Pandey
  - o 2nd Place: Rahul Kumar
  - 3rd Place: Seema Acharya
- Balcony Garden:
  - o 1st Place: Sowmiya Chawla
  - o 2nd Place: Madhumita Mandal & Ashmi Chakraborty
  - o 3rd Place: Chiranjeev Kumar & Moumita Chowdhury
- Roof Garden:
  - 1st Place: Reshmi Maity
  - 2nd Place: Tanushree Jana
  - 3rd Place: Shikha Singh

In the Institutional Category, three institutions participated: CIMFR Digwadih, Tata Steel Jharia, and CIMFR Barwa Road Dhanbad. The winners were:

- 1st Place: Tata Steel Jharia
- **2nd Place**: CIMFR Barwa Road Dhanbad
- 3rd Place: CIMFR Digwadih

In the individual excellence category, the prestigious **King of Cut Flower** title was awarded to Kaushik Konar, while the **Queen of Cut Flower** title was bestowed upon Arvika. The **Overall Champion Winner** title was awarded to Sowmiya Chawla, with Reshmi Maity securing the **Runner-up** position.

The award distribution ceremony was held at 3:30 PM, where winners received their prizes from the Honorable Director, Deputy Director, Dean (Infrastructure), and Registrar of IIT(ISM) Dhanbad.

The esteemed judges for the competition were Prof. S.K. Maiti from the Department of Environmental Science & Engineering, IIT(ISM) Dhanbad, and Dr. Adarsh Kumar Srivastava, Senior Scientist (Horticulture) at KVK, Bokaro, BAU.

The event was successfully coordinated by the Flower Show Committee, led by **Prof. A.R. Dixit, Dean** (**Infrastructure**) as Chairperson, and supported by esteemed faculty members and administrative officials,



including Prof. Gauri Shankar, Shri Rajan Chaudhary, Shri Mritiunjay Sharma, Shri Mahesh Ingilela, Shri Indrajit Sarkar, Shri Gaurav Pratap Singh, Shri Shivram, and Dr. Dhiraj Kumar (Horticulture Officer & Member Secretary).

The constant guidance of Prof. Sukumar Mishra, Honorable Director, Prof. Dheeraj Kumar, Deputy Director, Prof. A.R. Dixit, Dean (Infrastructure), and Sri Prabodh Pandey, Registrar, IIT(ISM) Dhanbad, played a vital role in the seamless execution of the event.

The Annual Flower Show attracted a large audience, including residents from Dhanbad and its neighboring areas, making it a resounding success and a celebration of nature's beauty and horticultural excellence.

Rajni Singh Dean (Corporate Communications)